My first layout aware metro app lol

Talk about Windows 10, get help & support, share tips, tricks and useful links.
9 posts Page 1 of 1
Contributors
CodenStuff
Site Admin
Site Admin

A simple calculator test app

I am a complete newb using XAML and for the last few months I have been trying to learn how to code Metro apps in Windows 8 and for me the hardest part has been trying to figure out how to use this XAML cr*p and one of the things that I got stuck on was how to change the app design for the different layout types available in Metro apps. Just before the Release Preview came out I had finally figured out the various bits of code required to do it and then RP came out along with VS2012 RC and it has made this particular problem much easier to deal with.

VS2012 RC comes with a fantastic new feature called State Recording which when enabled allows you to move controls and change their properties/settings/sizes etc to match the layout chosen so for example if you preview your app using the snapped state which is only 320pixels wide you can enable recording when adjusting your controls and it will save their new properties/sizes/locations automatically directly into the XAML for you without making any changes to other layouts..massive time saver thank you Microsoft :D

I just decided to test the layouts out by making a basic calculator app which uses grids, viewboxes, buttons etc just to test how they look and behave in these layouts and this is how it looks:

Full screen landscape view:

Full screen portrait view:

Snapped view:

Filled view:

Not bad for a quick test of this feature lol

XAML is still a b*tch though!
Welcome to CodenStuff.com Learn Code, Love Code. Thank you for being a member of the community.
Skillful
Skillful Coders
Skillful Coders

Nice work CodenStuff! :)
XAML is really a b*tch!
Instead of LOL use this -
LSIBMHBIWFETALOL

Which means -
Laughing silently in between my head because it wasn't funny enough to actually laugh out loud!
comathi